add to favourites | espaŮol help | search | admin | home  
 - Home
 - Sponsors
 - Calendar
 - League Schedule
 - Submit a Scorecard
 - Chauka Premier Scorecard
 - Chauka T20 Scorecard
 - League Scorecards
 - League Standings
 - League Stats
 - News Archives
 - Feature Articles
 - Todays Yesterdays
 - CCL Documents
 - Video Highlights
 - History
 - Clubs
 - Teams
 - Grounds
 - Players
 - Player Of The Week
 - Player Awards
 - Champions
 - CCL Officers
 - Certified Umpires
 - Umpiring Quiz
 - Umpires Grades
 - Team Colorado
 - Tennis Cricket
 - CTCL (Austin)
 - HCL (Houston)
 - NTCA (Dallas)
 - Heartland(Nebraska)
 - USA Cricket (USACA)
 - ICC
 - MCC Cricket Laws



You are here: Home » News » News article

Littleton Cricket Club - Lions are the 2016 Twenty20 Champions - Last updated 25-Oct-2016 1:48pm
By Bodhayan Chakraborty(LCC)
Oct 24, 2016
 Email article   Print article  

Littleton Cricket Club - Lions are the 2016 Twenty20 Champions

LCC-Lions beat FCCC to claim the CCL 2016 Twenty20 Championship..

See Twenty20 Finals - FCCC Vs LCC Scorecard

More to follow soon.

Kervyn Dimney on behalf of CCL-EC


FCCC @ LCC-L: T20 Final, Memorial park, Oct 22, 2016 - Reported by Bodhayan Chakraborty(LCC)

LCC-Lions faced off with FCCC in the final of the T20 championship. This is LCC-Lions fifth consecutive T20 final appearance. But the humiliating loss against the same opponent in the last year T20 final was still fresh in the minds of the LCC players. The two thoroughly competitive teams with a mix of young and experienced players in their sides promised a final full of adrenaline and drama. FCCC was on a high after a record chase of 195 runs in their last qualifier game against CCB. LCC-Lions, on the other hand, demolished all their opponents to reach the final convincingly. And, after winning the fourth Premier championship last week, they were confident to make it a double this season.

Lions won the toss and elected to bat first. Dhiren and Dharam were a little subdued against the experienced bowling of Dipal and Naveen. Naveen drew first blood when he induced a false stroke from Dhiren and Dipal caught him superbly at mid-off. Ahamed, a LCC rookie, joined Dharam to steady the innings. They took Lions to the drinks break without any further damage. The score after 10th over read 63 for 1. The game was in balance as LCC could not break free as they would have liked, but they had 10 more overs to go and big hitters like Bodha, Jay and Norman to come.

After the break, Dharam and Ahamed tried to up the ante. But, Ahamed lost his wicket in the 12th over due to a suicidal runout. Bodha came to the crease and he immediately tried to force the cause by hitting a huge six of Azim over midwicket boundary. Next few overs saw some big hits, crazy running and dropped catches. Bodha hit 4 sixes and 1 four for his 46 runs of 21 balls, but he was dropped three times in between by the FCCC fielders. Dharam retired after making a solid 47 runs of 47 balls with 3 boundaries. Some late boundaries by Norman and Garnet ensured LCC to reach 164 runs in their allotted 20 overs.

164 runs in a T20 final is a very good first innings score. But, if any team can chase it, it is FCCC. After the last match heroics, they were confident to chase this total. FCCC started with Faiq and Santanu. They could not break free against the bowling of Dhiren and Bodha. Santanu lost his off-stump on the 4th over when he tried to whack a Bodha in-swinger. Omar came but he didnít last long. Jay trapped him plumb in front on the 7th over. Faiq was hitting some boundaries in between, but LCC bowlers were disciplined. Loose balls were hard to come by and the pressure of the required rate was increasing. Naveen was runout cheaply due to an injudicious running and excellent fielding by Bhavya. When Jay trapped Gopal on 10th over and Norman bowled Faiq on 11th over, the game was tilted to LCCís favor. But, they knew that FCCC has a deep batting line up. And with the likes of Dipal, Darshan and Rajesh to come, they still cannot afford to relax.

Norman and Dhruv bowled the next few overs. Though they didnít take wickets, they didnít provide too many boundary balls either. Darshan departed on 16th over when he skied Jay's slower ball. At the end of 16th over, FCCC reached 100. But, they still needed 65 runs from the last 4 overs. It is not impossible, but very hard against Lions accurate bowlers. Ultimately FCCC fell short by 33 runs.

LCC won their 4th double in 5 years by the virtue of this win. LCC won the RMSG tournament this year too. They are the most consistent team in these 5 years having reached both the T20 and 40-40 finals at every occasion.

LCC would like to thank Kervyn, Raymond and other CSCC officials for allowing LCC to use Memorial Park as their home ground for some of their league games and during the play-offs. LCC would like to thank EC and CACU as well for conducting 2016 CCL season in a very efficient manner.

Having said that, I thank all the LCC players, supporters and rivals to have an enjoyable off season and happy holidays. See you all at the AGM.

Man of the Match: Bodhayan Chakraborty was declared MoM for his attacking 46 of 21 balls and economical bowling effort of 4-0-23-1.

See LCC-L Vs FCCC T20 Final Scorecard

Match Video: LCC-L Vs FCCC Final

This article has been viewed 2060 times!

Cricket Enthusiasts: Please sign Petition for local cricket ground  
2017 Premier & Twenty20 Interesting stats
CCL Officers for the 2018 season; AGM pictures  
2017 CCL Twenty20 & Premier Season Awards  
CCL AGM - Saturday 18th Nov 4pm-6pm followed by Award Ceremony and Dinner  
More News | Popular News

 2017 Premier League    2017 Twenty20
Team P W T L NR Pt
LCC-L 7 6 0 1 0 12
FRCC 7 5 0 2 0 10
CCB 7 5 0 2 0 10
CSCC-Stars 7 5 0 2 0 10
CCCC 7 2 0 5 0 4
FCCC 7 2 0 5 0 2
DCC 7 1 0 6 0 2
ABQCC 7 2 0 5 0 0
Team P W T L NR Pt
FCCC 11 9 0 2 0 18
FRCC 11 8 0 3 0 16
LCC-L 11 8 0 3 0 16
CCB 11 8 0 3 0 16
RCC 11 7 0 4 0 14
DCC 11 4 0 7 0 8
CCCC 11 8 0 3 0 16
CSCC-Stars 11 7 0 4 0 14
BCC 11 4 0 7 0 8
YCC 11 1 0 10 0 2
CS-Stripes 11 0 0 11 0 0
LCC-T 11 2 0 9 0 3


No Games next week.


No Games last week.


Avinash Vataparambu

Avinash is one of CSCC's express bowlers. When he is on song, there is no stopping him.

No events at this time.
Go to calendar
Cricket Bats - $ 175
Go to classifieds

back to top
Copyright © Michael Doig. Licensed to Colorado Cricket League (CCL) 2004.
Designed by Michael Doig. Maintained by Kervyn Dimney and Bodhayan Chakraborty.